The Parent Trap

I recently wrote about why the second Footloose is so much better than the first and now I’m here again to make the same argument for The Parent Trap.

parenttrap

And they both feature Dennis Quaid, what do you know.

MSDPATR EC021

It seems ABC Family airs this 1998 classic every time I turn on the TV and I’m not mad about it. It’s a great movie that I used to be obsessed with, and I’m pretty certain I’m more obsessed with it now.

First of all, let’s get it out, now. Rest in peace, Natasha Richardson. You are gone, but not forgotten. Who would have thought Lindsay Lohan would outlive her, AMIRITE?????

parenttrap6

But yes, in this movie, we see adorable 11-year-old LiLo all giggly and drug-free with her freckles and no cocaine in her nose and it’s truly such a wonderful sight.

People who say the Hayley Mills version is better (my father) are seriously on drugs and should be examined for being emotionally unstable.

parenttrap4

LIKE WHO EVEN IS HAYLEY MILLS. SHE PLAYED A CHARACTER NAMED POLLYANNA. AM I SUPPOSED TO TAKE THAT SERIOUSLY.

There’s no comparison between the two actresses.

One time on Lindsay Lohan’s documentary on the OWN network, LiLo’s grandmother said LiLo should have won an Oscar for her work on The Parent Trap.

AND I COULDN’T AGREE MORE.

Like, how did she do that????? One second she’s Hallie being a California girl and next she’s some proper girl named Annie.

parenttrap3

If you have 18 minutes to spare (and I know you do), I HIGHLY suggest watching this YouTube video.

(Whoa. The woman who plays Meredith is really unfunny and is a little too much like her character.)

But let’s be honest, I wrote this post because Dennis Quaid, WHAT’S UP.

MSDPATR EC021

(Remember when Meg Ryan cheated on Dennis Quaid??? YOU’RE AN IDIOT, MEG.)

I’ve seen every Dennis Quaid movie worth seeing (The Parent Trap, Footloose, The Rookie, Soul Surfer) and there is something fiiiiiiine about him in The Parent Trap. Like, wow. I’m not mad.

And apparently I’m not the only one who thinks this way.

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.21.37 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.21.27 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.21.17 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.21.09 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.21.01 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 9.20.54 PM

Do you get my point??????? So, yeah, Dennis Quaid is hot and he doesn’t have a Twitter for me to properly tell him this, so really I’m just putting this out into the universe and hoping this blog will land in his arms (computer?) and he’ll personally thank me with a bottle of wine from his fake vineyard.

But ever since ABC Family has aired this movie, I tear up during the final scene every time. When Annie and the mom come home to find Hallie and Nick and he’s like I CAN’T LEAVE YOU AGAIN AND I’M LIKE OMG.

And Natasha is all like “And I suppose you just expect me to go weak at the knees and fall into your arms and cry hysterically?”

UMMM YES WHAT ELSE WOULD YOU DO.

Also, I’ll leave you with this:

2 thoughts on “The Parent Trap

Leave a Reply

