Baby Boomers… smh

It’s a tale as old as time. Baby Boomers. (That’s not supposed to be a ‘haha-you’re-old joke, but take it as however.)

You see, Baby Boomers love to talk about how awesome they are and what it was like when the Beatles appeared on Johnny Carson and when times were simpler and they could leave their front doors unlocked.

I need to point out that my Baby Booming parents don’t think my generation is hell in a hand basket. They’re actually pretty reasonable people.
But some things they don’t understand.

Technology
Like, there was a time when you didn’t have this luxury. I should be the one getting mad that my computer loses its wifi connection every time I close my laptop. You shouldn’t be angry that it took 10 seconds to load a YouTube video. Have you ever tried showing your parents something on the Internet and then all of a sudden everything freezes up? And they get so mad they walk away? LIKE, HELLO. What did you do when you had to freeze your own ice cubes??? Walk away when it wasn’t done within a minute?

frustrated

Or have you ever been to the airport with a Baby Boomer? If the flight is 30 minutes delayed, you better believe someone is going to hear about it. CALM DOWN. IT’S LITERALLY A PLANE FLYING THROUGH THE AIR. You can spare 30 minutes if they think the runway/clouds/air isn’t safe enough yet.

TV
My father watches that horrible TV show called Two And A Half Men. Charlie Sheen is sleeping with a different woman every time I catch a glimpse of it.

twoandahalfmen

This is somehow ok, though, in my parents’ eyes because it’s scripted television. But the second they walk in on me watching a VERY INFORMATIVE 16 & Pregnant, where the teenaged girl sleeps with one guy and gets pregnant ONE TIME, all hell breaks loose. Noooo, parents. This show is not glamourizing unplanned pregnancy. If you would watch, it would learn that it’s actually quite solid entertainment as these girls think their baby daddy is worth anything.

"Nothing else worse can happen, mom." -Jenelle

“Nothing else worse can happen, mom.” -Jenelle

Music
And don’t even get me started on music. It’s a miracle “Turn Down For What” can be played on the radio, according to my father, but his Baby Boomer music is just fine. DO YOU KNOW WHAT BABY BOOMERS DID AT WOODSTOCK?

woodstock

I don’t either and they don’t either because they were so stoned/high/drunk/I don’t know. And have you listened to their generation’s music? It’s not good. As in it’s not very moral. TAKE A LISTEN TO “HONKY TONK WOMAN.”

If you’re a Baby Boomer and read this, first I would like to say, ‘Wow. I’m honored.’ Feel free to comment on what Millennials do that upset you. I’m all for balance (even though it’s MY blog).

One thought on “Baby Boomers… smh

Leave a comment